Mandates & Classification

Roles and Mandate of Committees in Vihiga County Assembly

Committees are small specialized groups that help the Assembly to carry out its functions out of the chambers. There are two types of committees;
a)    Standing Committees
b)    Sectoral Committees

(a) Standing Committees

  1.  House Business Committee.
  2. Liaison Committee.
  3. Appointments Committee.
  4. Budget  and Appropriations Committee
    Investigates inquiries into and reports on all matter related to coordinate, control and monitoring of the County budget. Examines the budget policy statement presented to the House and also evaluates tax estimates, economic and budgetary policies and programs with direct budget outlays.
  5. Committee on Implementation
    Responsible for scrutinizing the resolutions of the house such as adopted committee reports, petitions and undertakings given by the Executive. Scrutinizes the resolution of the House, petitions and undertaking given by the government on the floor of the house.
  6. Committee on Delegated Legislation.
    Considers statutory instruments in relation to provision of the constitution, fundamental rights and freedom. Ensures that statutory instruments are laid before the House.
  7. Public Accounts and Investments Committee
    Examines the accounts showing the appropriations of the sum voted by the House to meet the expenditure and it examines reports and accounts of public investments and of the auditor on the public investment. The committee is mandated to examine the working of public investment/state corporations/Parastatals.
  8. Committee on  Procedure and House Rules
    It is responsible for providing rules for the orderly conduct of committee business. Proposes amendments of standing orders.
  9. Committee on Powers and Privileges.
    Inquiries into any alleged breach of the code of conduct by any member of the Assembly.

(b) Sectoral Committees

  1. Committee on Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries
    The function of the committee relates to livestock, fisheries and cooperative development, production and marketing in the County.
    This committee is responsible for all matters that relate to Agriculture, irrigation, livestock, fisheries development and veterinary services
  2.  Committee on Health Services
    It considers all matters relating to medical services, public health and sanitation.
  3. Children, Culture and Community Services Committee.
  4. Committee on Early Childhood Education and Vocational Training.
    It considers issues of early childhood education, training and advancement of youth polytechnics in the County.
  5. Committee on Labor and Social Welfare
    This committee is mandated to consider all matters relating to manpower and human resource planning, gender, culture and social welfare, national heritage, public entertainment, public amenities, and recreation.
  6. Justice and Legal Welfare Committee.
    Deals with constitutional affairs, administration of law and justice, human rights integrity, elections and public prosecutions.
  7. Committee on Finance
    To investigate inquiries into and report on all matters relating to coordination, control and monitoring of the county budgets and to discuss and review the estimate of county government.
    It’s responsible for examine budget policy statement presented to the house, to examine related bills. Oversees public finance, banking and insurance.
  8. Committee on Transport and  Infrastructure
    This committee is mandated to deal with all matters relating to transport, roads, public works, construction and maintenance of roads, railways and buildings, air, seaports, housing and communication. Oversees transport, roads and construction and maintenance of specific roads.
  9. Labour and Social Welfare Committee.
    Oversees labour, trade unions relations gender culture, youth, social welfare and sports.
  10. Lands, Housing and Urban Planning Committee.
    It considers issue of land and settlement, Housing and Urban planning
  11. Environment Water and Natural Resources Committee.
    It considers issues of forestry, irrigation, wildlife, environment and mining.
  12. Public Service and Administration Committee.
    It examines the quality and standards of administration within the civil service and scrutinizes the reports of the house. It also looks at the services provided by the house for both members of the house and the public

pjsbmjts_vihigauserMandates & Classification